Q&A with Patrick Canning & Book Giveaway

The book is called Hawthorn Woods by Patrick Canning a suburban thriller sent in the late 1980's that should appeal to fans of Stranger Things and Big Little Lies. I'm a fan of both television series, so I'm pretty excited about reading this story.


Hawthorn Woods centers on Francine, who is reeling from a catastrophic divorce she just can’t seem to leave behind. She retreats for a two-week stay at her sister’s house in the picturesque town of Hawthorn Woods, Illinois. The quaint neighborhood of shady trees and friendly neighbors seems like the perfect place to sort through her pain and finally move on with her life—but the tranquility doesn’t last long.

Beginning with a complete stranger throwing a drink in her face at her own welcome party, Francine soon discovers the supposedly idyllic suburb is hiding a disturbing number of mysteries. She quickly changes her vacation prescription from one of relaxation, to one of investigation, as she tries to figure out which of the smiling neighbors has a secret they’d kill to keep?

A perfect page turner to escape into during the summer months, Hawthorn Woods is sure to keep readers guessing at what’s happening behind closed doors.

I'm excited to share with you lovely readers of Just Us Girls, a Q&A with Patrick Canning, the author of Hawthorn Woods. Following the Q&A we're also hosting a giveaway for both our USA and Canada followers. To enter the giveaway, leave a comment sharing your favorite thriller book!




Q&A WITH PATRICK CANNING, AUTHOR OF THE NEW DOMESTIC THRILLER HAWTHORN WOODS


Question: Tell us what Hawthorn Woods is all about.

Patrick Canning:
The book is set in the summer of 1989 in a small, seemingly peaceful suburb of Chicago. It centers on Francine, who is recovering from a messy divorce. She decides to stay at her sister’s house in the suburb of Hawthorn Woods, Illinois for a change of scenery. What she thinks will be a peaceful two weeks to unwind and heal quickly turns into anything but. It all begins when a total stranger angrily throws a drink in Francine’s face at her welcome party. She soon uncovers even more mysterious people around the neighborhood and a lot of sinister stuff happening behind closed doors. The deeper she digs, the darker the secrets get.


Q: What inspired you to write Hawthorn Woods?

Canning:
Hawthorn Woods is a real neighborhood where I grew up in Illinois during the 1980s. I wanted to revisit the magic of summer during that era, and also give readers a mysterious page-turner where they can’t help but wonder what’s going to happen next. While a lot of the setting is based off the actual neighborhood, all of the more horrifying mysteries are pure fiction. At least, that I know of…


Q: Who will Hawthorn Woods appeal to?

Canning: I think anyone who appreciated the mystery and drama of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies and the 80’s nostalgia of Stranger Things will enjoy losing themselves in the quaint, creepy town of Hawthorn Woods. Readers who look for a twisty plot and dynamic characters in an interesting setting, will find plenty to like in Hawthorn Woods.

Q: Hawthorn Woods is a domestic thriller, but your other two novels, Crytopfauna and The Colonel and the Bee were both different genres. What made you want to write a thriller this time around?

Canning: The genres I write in are definitely eclectic. I basically choose whatever story I think I can write best at the moment. But whether it’s a thriller or a historical adventure, what’s important with fiction is creating a book that people can use to escape, explore, and grow.


PATRICK CANNING is the author of three novels, including Cryptofauna (2018), The Colonel and the Bee (2018), and his latest, Hawthorn Woods (2020). He has also published several short stories. When he isn’t writing, he enjoys playing beach volleyball, following space exploration, and losing at bar trivia. Patrick lives in Los Angeles with his dog Hank, who some consider to be the greatest dog of all time.

Hawthorn Woodsis now available through all major booksellers and online via Amazon.
For more information, visit www.patrickcanningbooks.com and connect with Patrick Canning on Instagram.

26 comments:

  1. Blood & Chrysanthemums by Nancy Baker

    ReplyDelete
  2. i can't think of a particular title that i enjoyed in the thriller category - i read so many book, of all genres - this one sounds really good - i need a bit of 'thrill' in my life right now! :D

    ReplyDelete
  3. That is one of my favorite categories so it's tough to pick just one! Books by Lisa Jackson or Lisa Gardner are definitely high on the list! Thanks for the chance to experience a new author!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Need to Know by Karen Cleveland

    ReplyDelete
  5. I enjoyed The Wife Who Knew Too Much
    jan

    ReplyDelete
  6. I really enjoyed The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides.

    ReplyDelete
  7. NOs4A2 by Joe Hill! I couldn't sleep for a week!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I don't get to read very often, but I loved The Girl on the Train.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love anything by Lisa Jewel or Ruth Ware...both have kept me on edge lol

    ReplyDelete
  10. Getting a prenup is a weird conversation, but if you’re in Los Angeles, consider speaking to our Los Angeles prenup lawyers for a risk free consultation.

    ReplyDelete
  11. It has been so long since I read an adult book I couldn't even tell you what would be my favorite. I'm excited to start taking some time to myself to get back into reading.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I liked Beautiful Mystery by Louise Penny.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Hiding in the Shadows by Kay Hooper.Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Page turner books are my favorite kind of books.

    ReplyDelete
  15. My favorite thriller book is The Silent Patient!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I don't have a favorite! I like so many I couldn't choose. :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. AlexNorth - The Whisper Man was really good!!

    ReplyDelete
  18. It looks good! clwhippl4@aol.com

    ReplyDelete
  19. I don't have a favorite but I liked the Davinci Code.

    ReplyDelete
  20. My favorite thriller is The Outsider by Stephen King

    ReplyDelete
  21. To know more about Chief Dr Lucky you can visit his website (https://chiefdrluckyherbaltherapy.wordpress.com/)
     
     A friend that suffered from Herpes and was cure with the help of this great herbal doctor Chief Lucky so i decided to contact him for help in getting rid of my families genital herpes virus 1/2 which i did and all i was told to provide was just some useful information and some materials used in preparation of the natural cure and that i did and now i am the happiest person on earth because i am writing this testimony of mine with joy and happiness in my heart to the whole world to know that natural remedy is real because i am a living testimony of Chief Lucky traditional herbal cure and i want you all to contact Chief Lucky via his email: chiefdrlucky@gmail.com or WhatsApp him +2348132777335 am sure he will help you too.

    ReplyDelete